• illinoistollway.jpg

    The WSCCI is extremely excited to be invited to serve on the Corridor Planning Commission for the Move Illinois: The Illinois Tollway Driving the Future: a the 15-year, $12 billion capital program addressing the needs of the existing Tollway system, as well as:

    Move Illinois will improve mobility, relieve congestion, reduce pollution and link economies across Northern Illinois.

    Further, Move Illinois will be the 'cleanest and greenest' program in the Tollway's history by seeking to minimize the environmental impact of new roadway construction by reducing, recycling and reusing materials.

    The Move Illinois Program is projected to create as many as 120,000 permanent jobs and add $21 billion to the economy. The Illinois Tollway is committed to ensuring that this region remains competitive with other major cities in the U.S. and around the world and unlocking the economic potential of the region for years to come.

    The Move Illinois Program is funded by bonds and toll revenue generated through a toll rate increase for passenger vehicles in 2012 and a previously approved increase for commercial vehicles beginning in 2015.

    For more information, please go to the Move Illinois website: http://www.illinoistollway.com/move-illinois



  • What is the Impact?

    This massive project will help address many issues currently facing our local and regional businesses such as, just to name a few:

    • Minimize truck traffic down La Grange rd - helping to eliminate some of the unnecessary environmental noise and pollution experienced by businesses and residents
    • Provide a stronger attraction and access for visitors visiting the local communities and the region
    • Help in expanding employment development by allowing for more access to nearby communities and individuals looking to work in the area
    • Offer a wider range of (and more efficient) connections to commerce opportunities


    How Do I Get Involved?

    The Corridor Planning Commission is working diligently to determine the best course of action for the next phases of this initiative.  Commission meetings will conclude in the New Year, followed by opportunities for the general public and local businesses to weigh in on the progression of the project and next steps. Stay tuned for more updates here on the WSCCI Moves Illinois page!

  • Who Serves on the Corridor Planning Commission?

    Greg Bedalov Council Chair, Executive Director, Illinois Tollway
    MarySue Barrett President, Metropolitan Planning Council
    Paul Braun Flossmoor Mayor, South Suburban Mayors and Managers Association
    Benjamin Brockschmidt Vice President of Policy; Executive Director, Infrastructure Council, Illinois Chamber of Commerce
    Ray Drake Vice President of State Government Affairs, United Parcel Service, Illinois Freight Advisory Committee
    John Fortmann Deputy Director - District 1, Illinois Department of Transportation
    Bryan Gay Economic Development Director, Choose DuPage
    Frank Grimaldi Assistant Commissioner of Design and Construction, City of Chicago Department of Aviation
    Ken Grunke Executive Director, West Suburban Chamber of Commerce and Industry
    Matt Hart Executive Director, Illinois Trucking Association
    Tom Kotarac Deputy Executive Director, Policy and Programming, Chicago Metropolitan Agency for Planning
    Gopal Lalmalani Oak Brook Village President, DuPage Mayors and Managers Conference
    Shirlanne Lemm President and CEO, GOA Regional Business Association
    Wes Lujan Assistant Vice President, Government Affairs, Union Pacific Railroad
    Marty Maloney Park Ridge Mayor, Northwest Municipal Conference
    Sean McDermott Countryside Mayor, West Central Municipal Conference - Central
    Steven M. Morley Elmhurst Mayor, DuPage Mayors and Managers Conference
    Paul Nowicki Regional Assistant Vice President, State Government Affairs, Burlington Northern Santa Fe Railroad
    Arnold Randall General Superintendent, Forest Preserve District of Cook County
    Leanne Redden Executive Director, Regional Transportation Authority
    William Rodeghier Western Springs Mayor, West Central Municipal Conference - Central
    T.J. Ross Executive Director, Pace Suburban Bus
    Don Schaefer Executive Vice President, Mid-West Truckers Association Inc.
    Jim Schultz Executive Director, Department of Commerce and Economic Opportunity
    Jeff Sherwin Northlake Mayor, West Central Municipal Conference - North Central
    Donna Smith Executive Director, Bedford Park-Clearing Industrial Association
    Chris Snyder Director of Transportation, DuPage County
    David St. Pierre Executive Director, Metropolitan Water Reclamation District of Greater Chicago
    Joseph Tamburino Hillside Mayor, West Central Municipal Conference - North Central
    Charles Tokar Chicago Ridge Mayor, Southwest Conference of Mayors
    Kris Wasowicz Justice Mayor, Southwest Conference of Mayors
    John Yonan Superintendent, Cook County Department of Transportation and Highways